Day 5: Alameda Beach

I took this picture to show how the waves in the bay have left their imprint on the sand.  I asked Ashley to tell me where the water waves end and the sand waves begin and she pointed out that the water waves appear convex and the sand concave.  Very cool.

“And so waves made of sand melt into the sea…eventually”: I took this picture to show how the waves in the bay have left their imprint on the sand. I asked Ashley to tell me where the water waves end and the sand waves begin and she pointed out that the water waves appear convex and the sand concave. Very cool.

I took this picture because I thought it was interesting how the clam shell helped form the fractal pattern in the sand.  Karla pointed out that it looks like a bird.  I agree :)

Sea Gull: I took this picture because I thought it was interesting how the clam shell helped form the fractal pattern in the sand. Karla pointed out that it looks like a bird. I agree.

These tiny dunes form larger dunes that you can see if you look at the overlapping curves.  Or do the large curves form the small dunes?

Self-Similar Dunes: These tiny dunes form larger dunes that you can see if you look at the overlapping curves. Or do the large curves form the small dunes?

Besides the incredible confluence of color, I am drawn to this picture for how the forces of the patterns of wind and tide have shaped these three media in completely different ways.

Water, Sea Weed, and Sand: Besides the incredible confluence of color, I am drawn to this picture for how the forces of the patterns of wind and tide have shaped these three media in completely different ways.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Virulent Alchemist said,

    The island in the midst of moss picture is the best because the lighting does justice to the darkened beach that you photographed it on. The moss resembles patterns found in satellite pictures of hurricanes. The photos of sand and water similarities should be placed side by side to show comparison and show how they seem to complete each other. Suggestion.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

